Uncategorized

Eclipse + MyLyn + Tasktop + EGit

For years now Eclipse has been my favorite IDE but recently I discovered a few tools that have made it even more appealing namely Task-oriented development with  MyLyn.

First let me talk about the problem. I was developing a project which required many plugins and in the course of development I found myself having hundreds of files. Not that I like that but development with CakePHP (MVC) made that inevitable.

Challenge: Different plugins or tasks usually involve sets of files which do not intersect. Switching between tasks therefore becomes a tedious affair. MyLyn saves the day by providing task management integrated with automated context management.

Here are a few links to give you an introduction.

http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/java/library/j-mylyn1/

http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/java/library/j-mylyn2/

Standard

2 thoughts on “Eclipse + MyLyn + Tasktop + EGit

Leave a Reply

