Life

Wow! It’s been an emotional 2015

2015 has been a roller coaster ride! I’ve learnt a lot and I’m learning to be grateful for the opportunities and challenges that came with it. If there is one thing I learnt practically in 2015, it’s that peace and life is a precious gift and should never be sold for money.

26 For what is a man profited, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul? or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul?
(Matthew 16:26 KJV)

What is the soul? Well according to my understanding, my soul is he conscious part of my being that joins my spirit with my body. I understand it to be my conscious mind, emotions and my heart. I think and feel through my soul. My memories, emotions, and active environment are processed by my soul and depending on HOW I process WHAT I’m feeling, remembering or experiencing determines if I make progress or regress.

While working with people we may encounter others with manipulative, aggressive or pure evil tendencies. While I grew up with a passive personality, I’ve realised being passive in the mist of an aggressive or manipulative personality is a recipe for much suffering. That suffering I believe is what it means to “lose his own soul”. 

Living with no peace, no joy, no respect, and living in constant emotional and psychological assault in the name of work or “gaining the whole world” is not worth it.

The proper response to an abusive relationship whether professional or personal relationship is to be assertive, set the boundaries, and be willing to pull the plug if those boundaries are constantly violated.

6 Better is a handful with quietness than both hands full with painful effort, a vain striving after the wind and a feeding on it.
(Ecclesiastes 4:6 AMP)

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Wow! It’s been an emotional 2015

Leave a Reply

